Community Rating System (CRS) Annual Reports

The City of Oregon City participates in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), which is a federal program operated by FEMA to make flood insurance available to everyone. To participate, the City has met minimum NFIP standards, which include adopting and enforcing floodplain zoning regulations.

In 1990, the NFIP introduced its Community Rating System (CRS) which assigned municipalities grades of 1 to 10 (1 being the best). The idea is that if a community has taken steps to reduce the risk of flood damage that goes beyond the NFIP's minimum requirements, the community's residents should pay less for flood insurance because of the reduced risk. Based on what the City of Oregon City has done to reduce the risk of flood damage and to keep our residents and business owners informed about flood measures, effective 2023, Oregon City's rating was improved from a Class 8 to a Class 6. Property owners are now eligible for a 20% reduction in flood insurance rates (it was 10% under Class 8) for properties in the 100-year floodplain and a 5% reduction for properties outside the 100-year floodplain. Oregon City has had a history of flooding and is currently the only city in Clackamas County that participates in this program.

Part of the requirements of the Community Rating System program is that participating communities must produce an annual progress report which details work completed or in process regarding flood program management. The report also includes Oregon City's actions to minimize the effects of flood events within the City and lists emergency preparedness events that staff are involved in throughout the year.

View prior reports:

2022 CRS Annual Report (PDF)
2021 CRS Annual Report (PDF)
2020 CRS Annual Report (PDF)
2019 CRS Annual Report (PDF)
2018 CRS Annual Report (PDF)