What is zoning?

Zoning districts are established to promote efficient and compatible land uses around the City. The districts distinguish between permitted uses, conditional uses, limited uses, and prohibited uses within each district, and dimensional standards, such as minimum lot size setbacks and height limitations. Additional regulations, known as Overlay Districts, provide additional standards if the proposed development site is historically designated, near a natural resource, slope or floodplain.

The purpose of Oregon City's zoning ordinance under Oregon City Municipal Code Chapter 17.02.020 is "to promote public health, safety and general welfare through standards and regulations designed to provide adequate light and air; to secure safety from fire and other dangers; to lessen congestion in the streets; to prevent the overcrowding of land; to assure opportunities for effective utilization of land; to provide for desired population densities; and to facilitate adequate provision for transportation, public utilities, parks and other provisions set forth in the city comprehensive plan and the Oregon Land Conservation and Development Commission Statewide Planning Goals."

Oregon City has several different zoning designations, with many different use categories.  The links below will take you to the city's on-line municipal code website. Click below to learn more about each zone's purpose, permitted uses, dimensional standards (e.g. setbacks, height limits, etc.), and other details.

Low Density Residential Districts (R-10, R-8, and R-6 Zones)

Medium Density Residential Districts (R-5, R-3.5 Zones)

High Density Residential Districts

Commercial, Institutional, & Mixed Use Districts

Industrial, & Employment Districts

Show All Answers

1. What is zoning?
2. What does my Zoning Designation Mean?
3. How do I Change my Zone?